Mark Lanegan To Cover Nick Cave, Sinatra, And Patsy Cline On ‘Imitations’


Here’s some good, make that great news, to break the bad news streak we’ve been on  this week. Mark Lanegan is set to release a cover record full of classics from Sinatra to Bobby Darin this September. Lanegan says he’s wanted to make this kind of record for a long time, and we all have his folks to thank for it. Says Lanegan…

When I was a kid in the late sixties and early seventies, my parents and their friends would play the records of Andy Williams, Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra and Perry Como, music with string arrangements and men singing songs that sounded sad whether they were or not. At home my folks were also listening to country music, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, George Jones and Vern Gosdin were some of our favorites. For a long time I’ve wanted to make a record that gave me the same feeling those old records did, using some of the same tunes I loved as a kid and some that I’ve loved as I have gotten older.

Imitations’ stellar track listing follows:

01. Flatlands (Chelsea Wolfe)
02. She’s Gone (Hall & Oates)
03. Deepest Shade
04. You Only Live Twice (Nancy Sinatra)
05. Pretty Colors (Frank Sinatra)
06. Brompton Oratory (Nick Cave)
07. Solitaire
08. Mack The Knife (Bobby Darin)
09. I’m Not The Loving Kind (John Cale)
10. Lonely Street (Patsy Cline)
11. Elégie Funèbre (Gérard Manset)
12. Autumn Leaves

Via: Consequence of Sound.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.